Some email programs add links and/or display notices in emails or even change content that aren't part of the original email. They do this to augment the user experience and provide added security.

These changes are beyond Envoke's control but following some best practices can reduce unwanted messaging and behaviour.

Related articles:


Images aren't downloaded automatically

This is a setting by individual email recipients. In most cases all images are downloaded/displayed as soon as the email is opened in the inbox but users can turn off the automated image download option, which means they need to click a "download images" link in order to view images from your email.


List unsubscribe

In addition to the unsubscribe link provided in the footer of emails some email providers will add a link to the unsubscribe page near the top of the email as well. This link is meant to make it easier for users to remove themselves from mailing lists.


Sent via lists.bettermail.ca notice

Gmail adds a notice "sent via lists.bettermail.ca" to indicate that the email is sent via a third party service such as Envoke and not directly from the sender.

The technical explanation is that the "envelope" domain doesn't match the domain of the "from" address.

According to Gmail's documentation this note will be hidden if the message is authenticated by DKIM using the "from" address domain. Learn about setting up DKIM authentication.


View online link

In addition to "view online" links that you add to emails some email programs will show their own "view online" link near the top of the email.


Security warnings

Some virus scanners and security software will inject a conspicuous notice to emails to indicate that the message is free from malicious code, the security status of the message is unknown or simply note that the message originates from a sender outside of the recipient's organization.


Message truncated/clipped

Gmail will truncate emails that are too long and display a note at the end of the email:

This happens then the message's size exceeds a certain limit (102KB). The message size is made up of the text in your email, links, HTML, styles and more. Image size does not affect the size of the message.

The solution is to reduce the content in particularly long messages. Before you delete content from your email we recommend that you duplicate your message first so the original version is retained should you need to access it again.

If the issue persists even for relatively short messages then there may be unnecessary code injected into your message - usually by a browser plugin - or you pasted HTML or CSS code that is not needed for emails (for example included CSS styles used by web pages, not emails). In this case the HTML of the email needs to be cleaned up to remove unnecessary code.


Link colours change or links are added

Some email clients automatically turn addresses and phone numbers into links and change the link colour to (most often) blue. This is a convenience feature to make it easy for readers to locate businesses on a map or call them using a single click/tap. This adjustment happens after the email is sent by the email client and cannot be changed from the email editor.

Did this answer your question?