What's the difference between templates and messages? Do you need templates?
The larger your team, the more useful templates are to help keep messages on brand using locked content and sharing templates across multiple accounts.
If you only have a few users for your account you can skip templates altogether and work with messages only. You can always duplicate messages using the "Save as..." option in the message editor.
Creating templates is not mandatory in order to send messages. The benefit of creating templates is two fold: #1 is convenience: so you can easily create messages that look the same and #2 for larger teams templates help to ensure that standard users have a layout to work with that is already on brand, created by admin users.
Only admin users can edit templates.
Content and/or styles can be locked for each content block within a template
Templates can be shared with sub-accounts
Access to templates is based on user roles:
Subaccount administrators can create and update templates.
Administrators can also share templates with subaccounts.
All other users can view and use templates but can't edit them.
You can find out your user role on your user profile page.
There are two options to create a template:
Option one is to turn an existing message into a template: Simply select the "Save as template" option from the message editor page.
If you don’t have existing messages to start with, then you need to build a new template. From the templates page click the "Create template" button to get started.
Define your template layout
Build the layout as you would build any email message. Watch our video about working with the email editor if you need help with this.
Template content locking
This option is available only with the Pro or Multi-account monthly billing plans and with the Pay As You Go plan.
Parts of templates can be locked from editing when a message is created using these templates. This is useful with larger teams to ensure all team members adhere to branding guidelines and can focus on content without inadvertently breaking styling or removing must-have content.
There are two types of locks:
You can lock entire content blocks so both content and styles become uneditable or block styles only so content remains editable.
Configure sharing and publish the template
Once the layout is configured, decide if you want to share the template with other accounts you manage. This is only relevant if you manage multiple accounts, called subaccounts. You can choose to share the template with one, many or every subaccount.
Templates can be published or unpublished. Keep templates unpublished while they are still in draft mode and don’t forget to publish them when they are ready to use.
Moving templates between accounts
You can move templates between accounts if you manage multiple accounts with Envoke.